Day 35 (of 186) closer to “the dream” thanks to @cuebc

Day 35 (of 186) closer to “the dream” thanks to @cuebc

I was excited to hear that a delivery arrived from @cuebc (computer using educators of British Columbia) a loaner pack of a dozen iPads and Spheros. 
With what I have in my room currently, it means I am close to being 1:1 for students with tech – something I had about 11 years ago – and something I’ve been chasing ever since…..because:

  • I have seen tech infused classrooms (iBooks then iPads now) create a collaborative culture 
  • It enables authentic inquiry  (Love exploring GarageBand together to see who learns how to do what and seeing them teach everybody else
  • Differentiation. I miss the level of differentiation I lost when I had to return to the lab-setup and students not seeing it as a place of learning (as they did with tech infused with the classroom) but as a room to visit once in awhile (and too often to create “good copies” of already worked-on Work)
  • Having students use the tablet as a way to think outside of the box (eyes lit up when I mentioned photos and movies!)
  • Emphasizing my in-class rule: tool or toy? Tools enhance learning while toys distract learning. 
  • And after hearing several comments including (but not limited to) “its an iPad not a wePad” (re collaboration)) and “its just for watching things” whereas I have created a lot aka creating vs consuming. 
  • Doubters, I know there are many for using tech in class – but I know my Apple II worked miracles for me…so for doubters….

(As Gary Larson said to his critics)

Gonna be a great next while!

About technolandy

Principaling on the Pacific in Powell River BC Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback to personalize learning!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment