Day 83 (of 186) a musical MindShift? Am I hearing right?

Day 83 (of 186) a musical MindShift? Am I hearing right?

Today one of my boys who usually tries to find ways to not take part in music class asked/said something that I first thought I didn’t hear quite right…..

Him – “Do we have music today?”

Me – “No – Tuesdays and Thursday’s are music”

Him – “Darn. I really wanted to go to music”

Me – jaw hitting floor (but also knowing yesterday was a “4” day in music – the best one of the year)

It’s a challenging class (especially to people who aren’t me) – and transitions haven’t been easy (which is why we are trying out the Finnish bell schedule and theme-focused days which seems to be working….knock on wood!). And transitions into music class have been extra challenging. And the music teacher is really good. He has been trying so many things. We have been plotting so many things to inspire and engage and connect with the kiddos!

Now, I freely admit to being proud of my district and its music program (and like my G12 daughter sorry for its future with the district music principal and well loved secondary music teacher not coming back next year). I was even asked to join a society (Thank You For The Music Society https://thankyouforthemusic.ca/about/ ) and even spoke about it to global tv last year. I believe music is an important part of education – both listening and playing. I love how every student has musical experiences that can’t be compared to in other parts of the province. And yes, I also know that band/music classes don’t work for all learners and have regularly gone out of my way to have some parallel activities and always have an open-door mindset – going so far as to have a student who said (something)-no I’m not doing the winter concert change his mind the day of the concert. And we got him onstage (with some supports to ensure he knew what to do) because we believe music matters and it sometimes takes those “unexpected moments” for success to be experienced.

The current plan for the class is spending a couple (6ish) weeks focused on “an” instrument. Trumpet is first. And yesterday I did sneak in to take a video to post to everybody’s efolio with a clip that “only a mother….or music teacher could love”! 🎺

I am looking forward to sharing this with Mr J tomorrow because it certainly feels good when a plan comes together!!

About technolandy

Principaling on the Pacific in Powell River BC Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback to personalize learning!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment