Day 3 (of 186) “back” to the future

Day 3 (of 186) “back” to the future

 

Today I got my first look at a full day classroom and they got to look at me. After a few days doing some ‘behind the scenes work’, I think I found a good fit – close to home and the family and very supportive staff to work with! When “things change” it is good to still be able to focus on the fun – and focusing on the positive, I am finally at a school that is a short commute away, so I can meet my goal of being closer/more supportive to my family as my older daughter enters her final year of school, my son works with his anxiety in a secondary environment, and my youngest gets ready for more and more soccer and other sports. And if/when another opportunity presents itself as a “better fit” for my work as an educator, I’m ready for it!

 

It goes a long way when a staff is welcoming….it goes even further when you hear from a third-hand source that something overheard was “it feels like we won the lottery”.  I’ve welcomed a lot of people to a school, and it was very nice to feel the same welcome that I try to provide. And of course there are the weird coincidences… former students who ‘moved away’ are now part of my world….and a student asked where I grew up…..because his mom graduated with me!

 

 

You can’t make up how small a world it sometimes is!

 

Looking forward to advancing some ongoing passions:

a) some Social-Emotional Learning needs emphasized within the classroom – some anxiety that lies just below the surface; looking forward to introducing Friends For Life to the school community! Can’t be using avoidance as a strategy forever!

b) bringing in technology (though I have to plug into the mounted projector (ugh) by being right under it because there is no hdmi drop where the other wires were installed….; looking forward to pushing some technologization (blending technology and curriculum into the community!)

c) ePortfolios and descriptive feedback are going to blow some minds I think….I’m looking forward to introducing the school culture to @Freshgrade – and pushing some thinkings around assessment

 

 

Looking forward to seeing what’s coming up next!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

