Day 180 (of 185) Summer of Badging?

Day 180 (of 185) Summer of Badging?

I don’t make my apple fandom much of a secret. From the time my dad brought home our first Apple II (and when the schools got the portable Apple IIc!) and then later the Macintosh (with its built-in handle at the top) I’ve been appreciative of how it helped me with my learning (my printing is very much an original font) and how I could organize my thinking about my learning…..with portability and hypercard! (precursor to both powerpoint/keynote and web building). I never understood the big tower connected to a big monitor with a bunch of wires in between. When a friend didn’t like her powerbook, I bought that as a replacement for my university Macintosh Classic. 

But – I also know that not all tools work for all people (otherwise Canadas Robertson screw would be universal https://www.google.ca/amp/s/canadabuilds150.ca/2017/03/05/the-robertson-head-screwdriver/amp/ )

So, when I was recently asked about some ‘next learning plans’ I have, I shared that I am looking at getting some certification via badges. 

The obvious first step is via Apple Educator opportunities: https://www.apple.com/education/teachers/ with the plan on continuing on to be an Apple Distinguished Educator

Also if great temptation has to better understand GAFE (google apps for education) with a start via https://edutrainingcenter.withgoogle.com/certification_level1 to be a Google Certified Educator

And then I tease that though it makes me feel dirty 😜, I will be exploring how to be a Microsoft Innovative Educator via https://education.microsoft.com/

I will be doing this both because I think it is important to have a familiarity with the key tools being used by Learners and by better knowing our Learners, I may be better able to share which tool may be the best ‘fit’ and also to continue to model that Learning never truly ends – not even in the summer!

Summer Of Learning coming soon!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

