Day 154 (of 185) read to lead @firstbookcanada #ownabookgiveabook

Day 154 (of 185) read to lead @firstbookcanada #ownabookgiveabook

Today turned out to be #ownabookgiveabook Day via @firstbookcanada & McDonalds Canada. Take a “Shelfie” and @McD_Canada will donate a book to kids (and a book is the current happy meal ‘toy’. 
So, my Shelfie:

I used to have more books on my professional reading shelf….but I’ve been developing a habit of ‘sharing them’ – and because I’m a librarian I am mindful that I don’t want to record who has which book because:

A) I’d rather they share them forward to others who may have a need for the book

B) if I keep looking for a particular title, it must be for a reason!
So my in-print books that I keep being drawn back to include:
Ken O’Connors 15 fixes

Ken Robinsons Creative Schools

Tony Wagners Creating Innovators

But I have also defaulted to reading more books-on-device; while I like having a pile next to my bed, I think my wife prefers to have them weigh down my phone instead. 

While I enjoy having an array of books to link back to, digital books can’t be shared as easily…..while a second hand market is ‘expected’ to occur, the same transfer of ownership cannot occur with digital formats. So it’s not as fun to swap books & search for notes written in the margins to uncover someone else’s thinkings!

But it is good to get ideas from others – coincidently, education guru @gcouros had a blog today also connected to reading-as-an-education-leader, but using non-education focused books: http://georgecouros.ca/blog/archives/7363

Reading matters. Even if it’s periodicals, blogs or something you StumbleUpon (great randomized site) – it will influence and encourage you as a lead-learner.
So:

– be proud of your reading

– share your thinking about what you read

– ask others what they are reading

– don’t be afraid to read “outside of education” books

– model reading…..and strategies such as: re-reading!

– and when you’ve finished a book (unless it’s autographed 😜) try passing it on…with the catch that they must do the same with it. 

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

