Day 141 (of 185) oh the people that you meet when you’re walking down the (digital) street

Day 141 (of 185) oh the people that you meet when you’re walking down the (digital) street

 

Got a random positive message today: our new superintendent (from another district) was talking to one of his PVPs and my name came up…..fortunately it was in a positive light! But it made me think about how important it is to be mindful of how you interact with other educators….because what happens in ____ might not stay in _______.

 

 

F’r instance:

 

The Good

Being in a random coffee shop on a family road trip and hearing a loud “Mr Landy??” followed by a big hug. A secondary girl who wasn’t embarrassed by the friends she was with to come up to me and introduce me to her peers. My daughters both said they probably wouldn’t have done that…..

Bonus one: reconnected with a former student (who is now a VP) and he later sent me an email from one of the friends who he was still in touch with. She was sharing (unsolicited) about how school was challenging until their one teacher (yes, me – otherwise this might not make sense) took time out of a hockey pool we were doing at her family’s house to talk about books and make some suggestions (and bringing her a copy of a book) that she might connect with. I honestly didn’t have a strong memory of this one….and that’s one of the key take-aways: you never know what impact you are having on someone else – intention and interpretation can be VERY different!

 

 

The Bad

When I hear from my kids (in school): Oh, you’re dad is ‘him’?!

  • I have a reputation of being the “tech principal guy”
  • I am sometimes a tad radical in looking for innovation/creativity
  • sometimes taking risks is……risky; as I’ve said – when you hire me, the good news and the bad news is that you get ‘me’

 

 

The Ugly:

I was a classroom teacher….with a newborn who was teething…..and a football coach…..whose team had been auctioned off to do some yard work…..and many people suddenly couldn’t attend.

Now, I’m not afraid of hard work, but even now, I can remember that it was a time of rough nights, so I was a little bearish that day. Grumpy….unfriendly….all words used by an educator who was visiting his family that owned the house we were doing yard work in….and he was visiting that. very. day.

And a couple of years ago we reconnected in another district. I did not remember much of the day, and even less of who I was talking with. But he remembered. Boy….did he ever remember. Fortunately, we were able to ‘move forward’ and have become very good friends ever since!

 

 

The interconnectivity of the relationships we can form both in face-to-face opportunities as well as asynchronously can be amazing. I love when reading resumes, that I come across a familiar name and being able to to a reference check based on trust and understanding as opposed to hoping that the person on the other side of the phone a) is telling the truth and b) has an understanding of what your needs are: not every educator is a right fit ‘everywhere’. And as you ‘walk down the street’, you never know who will be ‘the people that you meet’ Sesame Street: People in Your Neighborhood – YouTube

and when you’re going to meet them again!

 

 

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

