Day 115 (of 185) a reminder to #kickitlikeagirl

Day 115 (of 185) a reminder to #kickitlikeagirl
Today I received a couple reminders about assumptions. Mindfully I read (and shared the video) Ferdinand the Bull. A bull that doesn’t do what bulls normally do. Almost 80 years old and still able to make kids laugh and learn. 

And it also made me reflect -and share- on a great info-mercial about cultural stereotyping. Specifically when being told you’re doing things “like a girl”. 
And as I am watching my youngest girl improve her soccer skills week after week….and watching more and more girls brace the cold of our indoor soccer facility….I think it’s more and more important to break the stereotypes and acknowledge how words can hurt on so many levels – racially, sexually, genderat, etc and also how these words can be altered and changed each generation….at least I know the language I use is very different than that used by my grandfather. 
So I happily shared Kick it like a Girl with my teachers who are tackling this topic in the classroom: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjJQBjWYDTs
And I hope more and more kids of all genders will “kick it like a girl”. 

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

