Day 112 (of 185) my rebel teenage daughter (with a nod to #sblchat )

Day 112 (of 185) my rebel teenage daughter

 

My teenage (grade 11) daughter knows how to push my (educational) buttons sometimes. I like to say that she’s my rebel because she likes doing homework…..in cursive script….to score high points in the game of school.

 

 

So tonight (wednesday at 6pm pst is #sblchat – standards based learning which always has some top-notch, published edu-leaders in the field of assessment and evaluation and reporting) it was very appropriate for her to say: Guess how I’m doing in my science class….

 

and I could tell that it would be an answer that would drive me (and many from #sblchat) a little crazy.

 

102%

 

As Ken O’Connor tweeted:

kenoc7
A3 Compliant students who get behaviour points and extra credit are winners and losers. #sblchat

 

The nice-for-me part is that she ‘gets it’ that it’s part of the game-of-school…the bad-for-me part is that she knows she can get under my skin with it, because I still have to appreciate her academic accomplishments…..!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

