Day 84 (of 185) Zones of frustration

Day 84 (of 185) Zones of frustration

As I asked my grade three class today: Is it okay to be frustrated when learning?
Yes!
Is it okay to stay frustrated? 
No!

Frustration is part of life. It is part of Learning. I try to regularly-ish guide my students through it. In a variety of subject areas (with limitations as my assignment is a principal/librarian – but I do get to “borrow” classrooms once in awhile). With support. 

I do not want to get students into “too much” frustration, but I believe it is an important part of grit- rigor – perseverance – etc and in my opinion none of this is accomplished by a large number of questions – but by deep questions and time

So of course when I was feeling ill at the end of the day (but having a daughter doing a musical concert tonight – so I was going to feel “well enough) I went for a tea-pick-me-up (might’ve been a smoked butterscotch latte by mistake) anyways….new bank card meant confirming via password….that I couldn’t remember…and after finally re-setting it there was a system failure and…..

Finally the barista (who knows me well enough) sent me on my way knowing I can fix the problem later. The power of positive formative feedback loops & relationships! Reinforcing precisely what I hope my students experienced a few hours earlier!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

