Day 80 (of 185) techlogy-bliss?

Day 80 (of 185) techlogy-bliss?

A weird day….At a district meeting and the subject of technology came up….and I’ll confess that this often leads to me sighing and maybe an eye roll or two…..

And sure enough, it was “excitedly” announced that our shift to Office 365 (O365) is on schedule….then there was a dramatic pause….(I was told to cover my ears….)….and Google Apps For Education (GAFE)….

And then we discussed our next school “refreshing” of tech would be an “A la carte” mix of devices. 

Though I haven’t seen the list yet, previous discussion had a range of desktops from repurposed to brand new, laptops for those wanting some mobility, iPads for those of us wanting to go more mobile, and …… we are not stuck on a single choice, but can look at a /pupil funding ratio to create a mix (I’m already plotting a lab of desktops for a transition period, a set of iPads and maybe some chrome books…..or similar….can’t wait for the menu to be shared!!

Teachers are also in line for mobile technology…..at this point there is not choice…yet…probably inevitable though so….maybe soon…? It kind of makes sense if we are embracing the mindset of enabling users to use the “right tools” and as a connection to my New Years pledge: I may not agree with the technology you use, but will fight for your right to use it.

And tools!

From O365-only to…GAFE and beyond!? This enables us to explore the best tools of all platforms! And the opportunities to explore Microsoft Classroom https://classroom.microsoft.com/  Google classroom  https://classroom.google.com/  And Apple classroom https://www.apple.com/ca/education/  which parallel nicely with our online exploration of eportfolio platforms FreshGrade https://www.freshgrade.com/  and quio http://www.quio.ca/

I’ve been doing some investigations into the various cloud/so systems – and am still an iOS/Apple fan (and love the teasing discussion/debates that can ensue) and appreciated a common refrain I heard from a few districts that I checked in with: “older” educators (trust me, you don’t want me to put an age next to that definition) like O365…and younger users go with GAFE…
….and when I let my oldest daughter know that we were essentially a “choose the best tools for you” district, she was thrilled because the first thing she did when she got her iPad for Christmas was download the Google suite so that she can collaborate with her various class groups (it’s easier for me to keep everyone doing their part <– she’s one of ‘those’ over-achieving learners) 

It’s been a little while since I’ve been as excited with the direction of our techlogy <– I didn’t misspell it, just got the “NO” out of the way!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

