Day 73 – new year, new resolution – one word

Day 73 – new year, new resolution – one word

 

 

I admit that I like the “one word resolution” trend. Probably because it links into our family’s shift to christmas presents being themed around something they Want, Need, will Read, and will Wear. A little bit of minimalism in order to focus on quality rather than quantity…..and similar to the new years resolutions which I just stopped doing many years ago. Instead I focused on using my personal/professional growth plan: https://technolandy.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/landy-personal-growth-plan-1617.pdf

 

 

But now I’m thinking of using New Years as a “midyear reflection” time and activity….after all, when focusing on one word, how hard could it be?

 

 

Well – identifying “one word” as a resolution can show how difficult minimalism can actually be: great in theory, hard in practice.

 

 

Even thinking about some of the strategies such as “trying on a word to see if you love it” <– based on a strategy for de-cluttering a closet (if UDL can come to education via architects, why not look at other careers to likewise influence “what we do”.

 

 

And I take inspiration from many who seen to have found their #oneword so easily. I’ve been debating it internally since our winter holiday break began. I considered “mindful” as it is a key word I have been using to be “present” when working with other individuals and as a “self-check” when making decisions around students (and family).

 

 

I thought of just keeping “learning” as the key word as I want to explore a bit more of my own formalized learning both in technology and library studies (and continue to model to my kids at school and at home what “life long learning” means.

 

 

I thought of “grit” as I’ve been enjoying Angela Duckworth’s book by that name – specifically her mention of it meaning “being satisfied being unsatisfied”….and I know I have to be patient at times as I sometimes want to move faster to get to where I believe education can/should be.

 

 

Finally as I started to have my students create their own “one word” and put it on a rock (something solid and earthy) I think I figured out what my 2017 #oneword is: passion

 

I want to follow my ongoing passion for learning. For reading. For technologizing. To continue to raise awareness for anxiety and mental wellness in schools. To keep blogging each day of my own learning. To help students and staff and colleagues all identify and find and follow their own passions.

 

 

So…that’s my #oneword for 2017: passion

 

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

