Day 70 (of 185) an amazing birthday reflection

Day 70 (of 185) an amazing birthday reflection

Birthdays always seem to bring on some dedicated time for reflecting. Today I got a surprising birthday present, one that was not intended to be a gift, but…well….here’s the email:

Hi Ian, 

 

We met briefly at the short course this summer. I am the Vice Principal at Howe Sound Secondary and Sea to Sky Alternative School in Squamish, BC. I am also a former student of DSS in Clinton, BC. 

 

Recently, I have taken place in a book exchange and I wanted to share with you a letter I received from a former classmate. I was having a particularly low day (after some very difficult circumstances at the alternative school) and this letter reminded me of why we do what we do. 

 

Take care, 

 

Cory 

 

 

Hi Cory, 

 

I hope this book finds you well. As you can see I have chosen to send you “Pawn of Prophecy” by David Eddings. It is the first book in its series and while it may not be the most outstanding novel I have ever read, it holds the most sentimental value to me. 

 

You may remember high school was no picnic for me but reading was always my escape and still is to this day, even though my life is drastically different. During our Grade 9 year we had a Social Studies teacher named Ian Landy who came to my house one night for a hockey pool gathering. I was in the basement reading a book by Terry Brooks “Sword of Shannara” when he arrived. I believe he spent more time talking to me that night about books and their authors than he did selecting players, and I remember thinking how amazing it was to talk books with someone who had a genuine interest in something I was so passionate about. 

 

“Pawn of Prophecy” was a gift from his personal collection to me the next day at school. I have cherished that book for 18 years and it is why I have chosen to send it to you in this book exchange. I hope you will read it and find enjoyment in it as I have. 

 

All the best,

 

X

About technolandy

Principaling on the Pacific in Powell River BC Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback to personalize learning!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Day 70 (of 185) an amazing birthday reflection

  1. Pingback: Day 72 (of 185) the 12 days of principaling  | technolandy: site of Ian Landy

Leave a comment