Day 50 (of 185) Yep – Christmas/Holiday ties are already being worn

Day 50 (of 185) Yep – Christmas/Holiday ties are already being worn

I’ve received some thumbs ups and “love your tie” comments and some “already? really?” comments. Because Christmas tie season is here. 

Each year I count backwards from our last day in school – and this year it’s a little early. So when I subtract a couple “days away” (meetings et al) I needed to start this week. 

A “Landy tradition” is being able to go deep into a school year without duplicating ties. I even recall for my first year matching my ties to the letters the kindergarten students were learning.  I also had a superintendent ask one of my students “does he ever wear the same tie twice?” To which she gave a negative response – I did clarify that I have some ties I do happily double up on…..and still looking for the “elusive perfect Seahawks tie” – not any tie will do for this!  And there is always “blue Friday” for sports jerseys to be worn!

I have written about “costumes we wear” before ( https://technolandy.wordpress.com/2016/04/25/day-141-of-183-costumes-aka-the-interview-costumes/ ). And costumes change. Influenced by a couple people on twitter I have added bowties to my mix (pre-tied one so far, I haven’t mastered the ‘other’ one yet!) and much like Halloween, as the season changes, what we wear “adjusts” as well. But as we prepare for concerts, first snows, winter “break”, et al, I do like that both at school and at home, I have kids who are looking forward to seeing what tie I’m wearing each day!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

