Day 28 (of 185) using my “principals voice”

Day 28 (of 185) using my “principals voice”

I was lucky enough to have my two girls come to my school as part of our districts Toonie Tuesday/Me to We assembly!  They are part of our district student leadership team which sends students to each school to talk about this event. 

So, a “bragging dad” moment happened. I was very proud of them standing up in front of the assembly and sharing stories about what our does and what they, as students, can do to make a difference (and how the district committee can help out!). 

Now, it was part of my bigger “reflection” assembly – once a month I like to get the whole school, together so I can introduce some specific topics:

The excess of litter on the ground

The upcoming ShakeoutBC event and the other drills we will do that day

My tech rule: tool vs toy (tools enhance learning, toys distract)

Up coming events & our “month in review” video (I always have a camera with me and document the learning going on in the classrooms and share via video with music. 

But….
When I asked my girls what they thought of my assembly, they made fun of me saying I was using my “principals voice”
My family will often call me on it if/when I use that voice. My wife will sometimes warn me not to use it…..but to me, when I’m at school I think that is an appropriate social register:
Loud enough to carry to the back row

Delightful pauses (as my daughter calls them) when I want students to do some quick-reflecting time

Attempts to do jokes 

It was a neat experience to have 2/3 kids with me for the day (my oldest even did some 1:small group work with the trombone musicians in our school bands) and I was able to note that during their part of the assembly……

Well, apparently they too could be educators as they were using many of the same cadences/emphasis/”delightful pauses” that I use. Looking forward to pointing out when they are using their “daughter-of-a-principal voice”……yeah – I can already hear the groans and see the eye rolls!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

