SOL 4 (2016) Connections & Serendipity…..and thanks to #bcpvpa ShortCourse

 

 

Serendipity. I believe in serendipitous moments.

 

 

It’s how I connected to @freshgrade for eportfolios – when I received calls from four colleagues within a couple of days to “check out that Okanagan company because it might connect with your ideas on reporting student learning” – and indeed it did.

 

 

It’s how I started by “blogging each day of learning” thanks to a chance connection/challenge by @gcouros and the reflection this has started has been invaluable (and I’m looking forward to starting year 4)

 

 

This years ShortCourse at UBC had me connect with a powerful group of education leaders: vice principals from across the province….a group that on paper I wondered how they would inter-connect….I didn’t need to worry….they’re good at that! They helped me recharge after a very busy and distracting final month at school.

 

 

It also had me connect with a variety of colleagues from around the province, several that I worked with in previous districts….some I knew via visits to other districts and/or asynchronous work (aka twitter) – but all got together for common reasons this week and work on our education-leadership skills; highlighted to me with the willingness for many to be volun-told to present their stories through an ignite event to kick off the week! Nice that they didn’t say ‘no’ when I asked them – it ended up being a highlight of the week and allowed all of us to get to know them even better!

 

 

At a social, I ran into a new Vice Principal…..who recognized my name…..we connected the dots and realized I taught him Grade 9 Socials & PE…..education can indeed be a small world – especially when I learned that he also taught in some of the same schools I have taught in….! At least I didn’t turn him away from a career in education!!

 

 

And the best moment of serendipity this week:

 

 

The “song of the night” was Walk the Moon’s Shut Up and Dance – a song that I have now retired from my “month in review” playlist:https://technolandy.wordpress.com/2016/06/24/day-183-of-183-my-staff-is-mean-and-i-loved-it/

and while when I walked into my final assembly at my school to hear the whole school singing it and cried….the last night of ShortCourse had the song played a couple times at the banquet and my table group knew the story….and wouldn’t let me shy away – turning the song into both a reminder of saying goodbye to a school, but also hello to a dynamic group of educators who are going to enhance the learning in our province!

 

 

ShortCourse is always an exhausting week….but I definitely had a huge smile on my face on my drive home!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

