Day 177 (of 184) there’s a reason when the oxygen mask drops you fix yours first

Day 177 (of 184) there’s a reason when the oxygen mask drops you fix yours first

When bad things happen….and they do – sadly – in schools….it is important that PVPs act first and do the tough leadership work…

But……

When there is a pause….we need to take advantage of it. 

I’ve learned by not taking some ‘me time’ and not being as effective not affective as I should have been. I was busy making sure everyone else had their metaphorical oxygen masks on. 

I’m mentioning this topic because I needed a pause – and pauses don’t need to be big & long – that was ‘scheduled for me’: our community’s music event: Wednesday on the Wharf – that the high school bands perform for the first night of – and my over achieving daughter is in both bands. But the timing to slow down has been perfect. 

I also have some colleagues dealing with much bigger issues than I am. I also know that they will continue to focus on others – so I made sure they got a reminder – a little token to encourage them to try a coffee they’ve never tried before and just have some quiet time (knowing that “quiet” for one will likely include some Tragically Hip)

We all cope and deal with bad news; tragedies; etc differently – but the important thing is to use coping strategies to make sure you take care of you. 

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

