Day 152 (of 183) reference letters vs social media snapshots

Day 152 (of 183) reference letters vs social media snapshots

I learned long ago that it is always easier to keep a professional resume/portfolio up to date than it is to create it ‘every so often’. I also learned that reference letters are goofy things…..

Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve had a hand in writing almost every reference letter the I’ve received. Once upon a time, they were necessary – a way of making an introduction….but more recently I’ve found that a phone call and google search can provide much more information than a letter ever could.

I still craft reference letters (when they are needed) with the “signer” still having final edit approval of course! But a collaborative endeavour it is. Even confirmed this practice with another colleague – phone calls much more worthwhile!

This even came up at a #caflnet chat tonight – how important the asynchronous networking that social media enables educators came through loud and clear. In many cases, a Professional Learning Network can be more engaged and connected than the next principal-down-the-road!

So I have also added some of my #PLN into my reference list – encouraging resume readers to “dig a little deeper” into who I am as an educator. I also know that the people on my reference list will interview the phone caller about the role I have applied for as much (or more) than the questions being asked of them. I trust my network to give me guidance based on their conversations if they also feel something is a ‘good fit’ for the two of us. 

But I think I’d much rather hear that people had live conversations about me than just rely on an achieved document – but I don’t think I’m the only one! Hope my new additions to my resumes ‘references’ get a digital knock to learn more about me!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

