Day 118 (of 183) coincidence?? Maybe…

Day 118 (of 183) coincidence?? Maybe…

Tonight I got to see a presentation of a program that my son may be a good fit for. It’s a project based 1/2 day model for grade 9/10 students. I like to say “imagine if elementary went into a high school and instead of subjects it was just “grade 9”. It’s not a precise description but….

It does promote community and collaboration. Learning is on a continuum and students have the means to work at their own pace. They even get (wait for it….) to choose some of their own learning topics. It’s called inspirED
http://www.sas.sd83.bc.ca/InspirEd
Here’s where the coincidence comes in: as I found a place to sit, I saw a former student. And another. And another…….students that I worked with when I first move to My current school district.  As a teaching principal 40% of my time is spent with a class (or classes as I have evolved back to my roots as a librarian). When I came down I had some crazy ideas (that I had tried and used for many years) such as #geniushour & project based learning. 

For good or for bad (depending on your point of view) I was pushing students to own their learning. And them send them off to middle school. Now, those grade 5s are entering grade 9 and there were quite a few (% wise especially) that I had worked with that we’re now exploringthis project based learning “experiment”. 
Coincidence? Probably. But maybe not…!?!?!?

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

