Day 108 (of 183) on #pinkshirtday ….I was a troll

Day 108 (of 183) on #pinkshirtday 

….I was a troll

I’ll admit I did some trolling – essentially some trickery – this week leading into Pink Shirt Day…..and I shared this with my library classes. 

At first my students expressed some shock…so I explained myself: all week long I’ve been wearing pink shirts (from the ones I’ve collected over the years) and each day I’ve had a few adults ask me (a tad panicked) “is it anti-bullying day” – to which I say “Yes….because each day should be anti-bullying day. But Pink Shirt Day is Wednesday”

Because there is a difference. Pink Shirt Day (imo) should be used to acknowledge the work people have done and are doing to raise the awareness of bullying and strategies to use to minimize these behaviours. A pause and visual recognition. 

I like sharing with my students that pink shirt day was started by kids….not as a way to make money by selling shirts, but as a way to show support for a student. And the story went viral. Here’s the video link I use to introduce the story: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjmf3I1_ZhU

It’s a time to be mindful and remind ourselves that when we use our voices and speak up, good things happen. So yes, I mindfully have been trolling my district and community to help each of us be mindful that anti-bullying strategies and awareness are not a one-day event – but recognizing the actions of those making a difference….well deserves a day! 

Think pink and make a mindful difference!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 108 (of 183) on #pinkshirtday ….I was a troll

Leave a Reply

