Day 107 (of 183) my daughters sweet 16 & she chose to write a test

Day 107 (of 183) my daughters sweet 16 & she chose to write a test

And because she made the choice, I liked it. It was the UBC Michael Smyth math/physics test. Not compulsory – just the way I like tests!

I’m against whole-group testing (same way/format etc) as I feel we have better ways of assessing student Learning (and yes I use the capital letter intentionally). I reflect too often on statements around “doing tests to confirm what students have learned”. If you know they know/did it…..is repetition a requirement? Just because I tackled a running back once did not mean that I managed it every time (any other time – whatever). 

I like student choice. And choosing to do a test like the Michael Smith challenge http://outreach.phas.ubc.ca/exams-and-competitions/michael-smith-challenge/michael-smith-challenge-exam-download/ is definitely a student choice (I saw the questions and was way out of my league!!) is this exceeding expectations?….depends on whose expectations….exceeding mine, meeting hers…..

Now I get to continue working with a rebel teenager – using cursive script to do extra homework and doing extra tests…..at least she likes some of the same music I do…sigh. Happy birthday!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

