Day 105 (of 183) the evolution of a presentation

Day 105 (of 183) the evolution of a presentation 

Today I had the opportunity to do my longest presentation (1/2 day) on one of my passion topics: anxiety. Worked with it for most of my career as a teacher/principal and many of the past few years as a dad. Two years ago this presentation began as a rant which has periodically been updated: https://technolandy.wordpress.com/2015/05/01/day-150-of-188-my-anxiety-rant-edited-continued-blog4mh-anxiety/

It felt good. I got great feedback – both instant and via some “later in the day” contacts! (I’ll let my ego shine a bit since key feedback was “we wanted him for whole day”) now – it helps that the topic of anxiety was the reason they came so the audience had a vested interest in talking about the untalkable!

One trusted colleague commented how he has seen great “growth over time”…. having seen how I presented once upon a time vs today. He was quick to point out that it’s not like I was horrible to start, but rather emphasizing that he’s noticed improvements!

It made me reflect how happy I am that I encouraged one of my staff to do one of her first big presentations at an ignite event last night. Gotta start somewhere (and ignites are great for that!!) and there were definitely some nerves on display by some rookies (who needed to see their slides!) but content and enthusiasm/passion trumps all! And for me the second stage of this anxiety presentation thingy was doing ignite events (one in Langley: http://www.sor.sd83.bc.ca/Ian%20at%20Ignite35.mp4  and a more polished one in Vernon)

Heck – I remember that even a BCPVPA conference had George Couros as a breakout session presenter. And then he keynoted the next year and hasn’t looked back since!

Not that im putting myself in that league! I like sharing stories, and especially when doing some innovative things: 1:1 laptops a decade ago; ipod assessments -videos!!-; eportfolios a few years ago; anxiety today…..who knows what disruption may be coming next!  

I am humbled to be asked to share my ongoing learning and hope to have more opportunities! It’s kinda fun talking about passion areas….especially the ones that grow from a small blog!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

