Day 97 (of 183) is sitting the new smoking?

Day 97 (of 183) is sitting the new smoking?

  

Cause if so, we should be changing our board (and other) meetings!

    

I’ll plead guilty to being a hypocritical role model. In my office I have my standing desk….but I conform to the cultural norm when visitors enter. We sit. I like to think it’s because that helps create a relaxed condition (and with some considering standing a confrontational position….well….I’m not huge but I ain’t tiny either)

But am I just supporting ‘bad habits’? After all once upon a time doctors recommended smoking for …….

  
But we wouldn’t say that with what we know now……and we know more and more about the benefits to standing over sitting

  

In the meantime I will continue to use my “cheats”

– stand and stretch as if my back is sore (but since I’m standing more my back isn’t sore nearly as much….)

– stay at the back and stand ….. And kindly refusing the offer of a fresh pile of chairs…..hey is this how the first non-smokers felt when saying now to a fresh pack of smooth ones?

– admit that I’m the weird one and that I like to stand…..and it’s okay for others not to….
Ugh. It’s tough being the early adopter sometimes! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=256eKjULdgQ

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 97 (of 183) is sitting the new smoking?

  1. Jenn Wilchuk says:

    I hear you….sat for four hours over all last night! We should at least incorporate a “stretch and breath” break into those Board Meetings for the sake of health and wellness!

Leave a Reply

