Day 92 (of 183) halfway there…..ish

Day 92 (of 183) halfway there…..ish

My days of learning target has changed from year to year as I guesstimate how many actual “days of learning” there will end up being. But today puts us at ‘just past halfway’ on a few different markers:

 

 

1/2 way through the school year:  that means it’s time to start getting ready for next year. How many kids we’ll have in what class next year. What staffing needs will be like. etc etc. But we also have to acknowledge how far we have gone, and when doing this, I am less and less looking at student achievement on a year-by-year level, and instead look more towards how each student progresses on an individual basis over their “time as part of our school” and communicating their personal learning journeys.

 

 

1/2 way through my time at this school: Our district looks to keep principals with their learning communities for between 3 and 7 years (sometimes shorter, but not any longer). As I am now at the 3.5 year mark (plus one day) I know that no matter what, I have less days remaining with this school community than what I have already spent. But my goal remains the same as it is each day – to leave the school community better than I found it.

 

 

1/2 way through my career: maybe. Depends on how much my kids cost me as they go through schooling beyond the K-12 range! But I have to admit – I have already put in more years than what I have left. And in the “disrupt and change the game of school” mindset….there’s still a lot of work to be done. I would still like my kids to graduate without the traditional “scoresheet” transcript – so two more years for full(er) acceptance and adoption of eportfolios in lieu of report cards. Still doable….then the next challenge!

 

 

1/2 way through ….. well….somethings are better not said, but this year I have lost more than a few friends and colleagues “too early in life”. That combined with my own fathers passing “too young” does make my brain wonder….what if and what about…. especially if what we hope is 1/2 way is a lot closer to “done” than we may want – and a final reminder that whether the career is half full or half empty (half done or half started) completely depends on your mindset!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

