Day 86 (of 183)The good old days weren’t (inspired by @garr_s and @shareski)

Day 86 (of 183)

The good old days weren’t (inspired by @garr_s and @shareski)

After a long week I saw a tweet: 

How good were the “good old days”? Some thoughts from @shareski… The Good Old Days ideasandthoughts.org/2016/01/22/the… #bcedchat

And I said to myself “that’s fer damshur” (free book to whoever names the person who made the phrase [and my hometown] famous) – because there was a lot in the 80s I could done without. 

The drugs and violence were there – along with a good amount of intimidation and quite a few fights (many getting a good crowd going before the first punch was thrown) and as much as we may hate the video violence…it helps end “he said vs he said” with actual useable evidence. 

I also remember a few classes which devolved into me figuring out how many seconds there were and trying to count them down…,or even funnier, using a calculator to add 1+1= +1 to see how big a number I could create within a certain time. And of course the typing drills to see how many words per minute we could bang out on the typewriter. Sigh. 

While there were definitely some great learning opportunities – doing an independent study course before there was such a thing; some fabulous teachers (still in contact with some…..who have said they wouldn’t mind teaching with what we know now) there were a few too many worksheets…a lot of segregated programs (frisbee French for ‘the kids in the portable’ who only were allowed with ‘the general population’ for limited times….really.)

I had an opportunity to talk with some parents from another learning community and math came up – specifically how they didn’t ‘get’ how math was being taught nowadays. So….I asked the question that I am becoming more confident in anticipating the answer: so…was math your favourite subject? (Round of No!s) and I explained that was kind of the point of ‘different math’ – it should be a fave class….shouldn’t it?

While I wouldn’t trade anything (though admit my jealousy that when growing up I could only dream that for our long road trips I could have a handheld device that would’ve let me listen to music (had a Walkman!) watch movies, play games, etc….)we are living in golden times!! But of course I remember more of the sunny days than the rainy ones (metaphorically since where I lived is notorious for not having much rain). 

I try to keep the bar high: would I want to be a student in my classroom and school. And likewise would I want to be a teacher in my school. We are living in amazing times – education experiences should be better than they ever have been. Because the good old days….weren’t always so good. 

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 86 (of 183)The good old days weren’t (inspired by @garr_s and @shareski)

  1. Sarah Garr says:

    Thanks for sharing this Ian. It’s been a bit of a challenging week & I’ve been looking extra hard for those “bright sppts” that sustain & inspire. “Fer damshur”, you are one of them!!

    Also evidence of one of the aspects I like best about Twitter- that steam of consciousness, ripple of connectivenesss that it sparks… George Couros’ post inspired Dean Shareski’s post, then my response, then your post. All connected, yet unique. Awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

