Day 74 (of 184) self/peer reflection time w thanks to @gborthis (& a little shoutout to @gcouros #innovatorsmindset )

Day 74 (of 184) self/peer reflection time w thanks to @gborthis

Appropriately, today was one of our reflection assemblies. We take time to review what’s gone on via a month-in-review video while also taking a look at what’s coming up (from hot lunches to creating a code of conduct as an entire community – not just what the adults say). 

Appropriately because we have an exchange teacher from Australia that has joined our staff – fitting in like a shrimp on a barbie! But at the end of the day her comment on the video was: “what’s left to do this year?” Even though she and her family previewed our school community via our archive of months in review (haven’t driven my tech department crazy on this topic!) it was different to see it in the gym as part of the school community. 

And the point of our video month in reviews is similar to my own reflecting via this blog-each-day-of-learning: it’s easy to forget what is going on and there are benefits to sharing!

Which is why it was appropriate that my superintendent @gborthis was coming to visit me (scheduled meeting, not a meeting of shame…..yet😜). I know he sees my tweets and blogs – I am what I am and acknowledge that I have my benefits and my deficits. Most of which can be fairly easily identified by reading my resume….er blog….well they are kinda one in the same (as I just read in the great @gcouros book Innovators Mindset). 

But it is valuable to have some 1:1 time with central staff to talk about the blend that is a principal & their learning community – only so much can be shared via text or after a meeting. 

And of course an opportunity to review our growth plans and see if/how the work we are doing is in alignment with the district vision. Of course that is something that I have been enabled to do by allowing a culture of risk taking so I know I can make mistakes along my journey (and my teachers know they can, and students learn they can, etc etc). 

  
Always good to reflect – knowing where we’ve come from on our ongoing personalized learning journeys!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 74 (of 184) self/peer reflection time w thanks to @gborthis (& a little shoutout to @gcouros #innovatorsmindset )

  1. K. Renae P. says:

    Honest reflection is one of the most powerful things we can do as professionals and learners. So is risk taking.

Leave a Reply

