Day 67 (of 183) iLandy Or how I learned to stop worrying and love single platform

Day 67 (of 183) iLandy Or how I learned to stop worrying and love single platform

 

 

Call me iLandy. Some years ago – never mind how long precisely – having little or no money in my budget, and nothing particular to interest me in my classroom, I though I would travel around a little and see a variety of schools and districts. It is a way I have of driving off the spleen and regulating the circulation. Whenever I find myself growing grim about the mouth; whenever it is a damp, drizzly December in my soul; then, I account it high time to get to thinking about technologization as soon as I can (yes, abridged from Moby Dick or The Whale – really enjoying the previews for In the Heart of the Sea)

 

 

I have had a revelation through a dream about my stand against a single-platform and have re-thought it. The discussion of having a single-user experience for the ease of all adults may have its value – to be able to go into any school and use the technology in the same way as where you came from – to know how it does and does not work in the same way. But much as the years after Ford and his advent of the assembly line process, we should be able to automize and simplify much more. One person for one job to create Community, Identity and Stability (yes, repurposing Brave New World….!)

 

 

It made me think that if this ‘single user experience’ is good for the adults and lead learners, it should benefit all learners as well. We have struggled greatly with students transferring through the year and getting used to a ‘whole different way of doing things’ in new schools and classrooms. It should be an easier experience – indeed, perhaps it should be a single-user experience.

 

 

Consider if you will how valuable it would be for a student coming to my school on December 15th to know that the work they started on the 14th in one school would be able to be continued easily and simply upon their arrival! No matter where you move from or move to! No difference in teacher methodology, no difference in the tools they use. One lesson plan would benefit both students and teachers alike! No need to wonder if a students learning style is a match for classroom dynamics – it will not be relevant!

 

 

Imagine knowing that manipulative are the same in all environments before you arrive! Libraries with exactly the same books set up in the same manner! Mayhap’s to think that different teachers use different tools to help learners is mis-thinking – some may be too advantaged than another! The ease and convenience and levelling-of-the-playing-field of this will be as invaluable as having all users accessing the same technology – indeed as I came to doublethink (yes, blatant ripoff of 1984) and realize that 2+2=5, the struggle is finished. I have won victory over myself. I love single platform. Does it matter which one??      I can walk!!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 67 (of 183) iLandy Or how I learned to stop worrying and love single platform

  1. Pingback: SOL 3a (2016) #bcpvpa tech thinkings and learnings via @shareski | technolandy: site of Ian Landy

  2. Pingback: Day 40 (of 185) differentiated meetings….it’s a thing… | technolandy: site of Ian Landy

  3. Pingback: Spring Break Update 2: the role of tech aka stop banning cellphones | technolandy: site of Ian Landy

Leave a Reply

