Day 57 (of 183) sometimes it’s the little things #movember

Day 57 (of 183) sometimes it’s the little things #movember

I had planned a little more around #movember and men’s health. But I got distracted in a neat way. 
I take part in Movember aka No Shave November for a slightly different reason than others. I have seen many great posts & campaigns earning money for different charities. And I fully support them. But I try to stay away from the monetizing part….because I know others do a much better job than I would….and my push is to talk more about men’s issues sooner rather than later (I wear my beard to identify myself as someone to talk to). 
I didn’t shave because my own father passed away from heart disease way too young (catching up to his age way too quickly)
I didn’t shave because a friends husband took his own life because mental wellness is tough to talk about. 
I didn’t shave because my own chronic pain blends the mental part with the physical. And some days are much harder than others even though they look the same. 

  
And yes I sometimes wonder if anyone ever listens….or wants to talk….or wants to admit they have anxiety or any other of the too many  issues that aren’t as easily identifiable as a broken leg. 
But sometimes we get surprised. A boy I’ve been working with for a couple years got me a little something. While he was out at a second hand store he found something that made him think of me. A pin of 

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

