Day 57 (of 183) sometimes it’s the little things #movember

Day 57 (of 183) sometimes it’s the little things #movember

I had planned on writing a big piece on #movember and #noshavenovember and other such activities that promote men’s wellness, but something happened today. A little something.
Now – I am a strong supporter of the many who take part and raise funds for a variety of purposes. But I grow my beard to try to show that I am willing to talk about the untalkables. It’s a little thing, but can be so tough to start. 
I grow my beard because my father died from heart disease way too young (and I’m approaching that age way too fast)
I grow my beard because a friends husband took his life because mental wellness issues can be so hard to talk about. 
I grow my beard because my own chronic pain blends both aspects of physical and mental but (like both) not as easy to appreciate as a cast….this the hairy face…

  
And I freely admit I wonder if anyone wants to listen. At least I did. Because today I got my confirmation:
A student who I have worked with for a few years now got me something. I saw it when I came in today (I was away at the end of the week). A little something with big meaning after the Vanier Cup championship 

  

But then I realized he brought this in before championship weekend. Turns out he saw it in a thrift shop and connected it to my old jersey hanging in my office. 
 He has been listening. 
So I’ll keep on talking. 

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

