Day 54 (of 183) some ‘wow’ readings this week via @gcouros @chrkennedy @karencopeland & @garr_s video

I just need to take a pause and pass on some blogs that have come out this week that really need to be shared (and my connection to them that made me think about them)

 

Regarding TeamWork and how when working together really makes a difference (George Couros – twitter savant and division principal & author Innovators Mindset ):

http://georgecouros.ca/blog/archives/5809

George’s blog really made me connect back to one of my education mentors (since retired) who commented that he didn’t know how “we” (he meant my principal partner and myself, I presumed he was talking about the entire learning community) moved a school to do a lot in a short period of time. Or as our motto was – you might find better/different/easier work later, but you’ll always remember this time and this place.

Kind of like the Golden State Warriors, I do like to minimize what we are here to do (self-regulation, personal wellness/health) and let the Learning build on strengths, knowing our roles and confidence that because everyone is “ready”, the learning process can begin.

 

On Coding and Robotics and how they are influencing a lot of what “we” do (Chris Kennedy – superintendent of schools in west vancouver):

http://cultureofyes.ca/2015/11/23/coding-and-robotics/

I’ve always enjoyed coding, but never really connected it to learning as I should. Sure I learned logo, turbopascal and self taught html among others, but most of the “fun stuff” that went with that was creating code on my family’s Apple IIe (when I could encourage my dad to go outside and play in the garden) and tweaking the code to see what changes would make it do (usually not work – this was before ‘cut and paste’ so I would spend hours typing in code to create a little free game). Coding in school was something ‘once in awhile’ and usually (officially) not until grade 11 or 12. Though as I like to mention during some presentation I made, the lab we had in our school district was better than an “amazing texas lab” that was written about in Time….just saying a Lillooet shout-out.

Now we are getting ready for “Hour of Code” December 7-11; for me that is an opportunity to steal the students for a “longer library block” and create a variety of stations (more to come…right now it’s still ‘classified’) for learners of all ages to explore….including a robotic one thanks to our Career/Trade VP who gave me a grant….hint: BB8….but also planning for the fact that “Code time” does not always mean “Screen time” it’s a lot more about the thinking and processing and collaborating than what i may first seem….

and of course the connection to our “Reading to the Stars” program (for non-star wars peeps, there is a NASA option that includes designing their own ship) and “levelling up” (from padawan to jedi master; minion to sith lord; x-wing pilot to admiral; test pilot to shuttle commander):

Screen Shot 2015-11-25 at 3.28.21 PM.png

(and we might’ve gotten an invite to open up the local movie theatre on december 18th….if you know what I’m talking about….)

 

On “The Illusion of Inclusion” – the difficult language and positions that parents and students can be put in – and a very BLUNT comment on that (Karen Copeland is the creator of champions for community mental wellness)

http://championsforcommunitywellness.com/2015/11/25/lets-be-blunt-the-illusion-of-inclusion/

I’m not going to add my thoughts yet…but the message that success comes to students who are “square pegs trying to be fit into round holes” when – as @garr_s points out in her inspiring tedx talk – educators choose not to give up on students: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2LKi-KeiUE is essential. We need to sometimes have some blunt conversations to bring forward some different ways of thinking (and doing).

Thanks to bloggers like Karen, there are “no more secrets allowed”. Mental wellness and health are issues that while uncomfortable, need to have more conversations around them.

 

Well…I thought I would be adding some links and pressing ‘publish’.  Oops – happy reading!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 54 (of 183) some ‘wow’ readings this week via @gcouros @chrkennedy @karencopeland & @garr_s video

  1. I’m patiently waiting for your thoughts on my post, Ian 🙂

Leave a Reply

