Day 52 (of 183) learning with peers @sorrento83

Day 52 (of 183) learning with peers @sorrento83​
Today was one of our professional development days, completing the trifecta of learning with peers!
Of course we talk about the looming topic of “new curriculum” – with a wide range of excitement and nervousness around the room (and within each person). I know I’ll be writing a lot about this topic (and I am very excited about the potential with some of the powerful shifting words within the curriculum – “growth mind set” definitely needed!) but at this time, I’m using one of my most powerful tools: time. Planting seeds so that we all have thoughts working behind the scenes and we are prepared for the next stage on this path: asking good questions in the new year!
We also had a start to developing a common code of conduct. And yes, that means we will be needing the active participation of our complete staff, along with our parents and students. Something I’ve always wanted to do, but (learning with @bcpvpa peers) got the framework that I felt will work with our learning community via Bryan Johnson (principal in Sooke). His dedication to creating with kids (not just for kids) is inspiring!
I also started the day by reviewing (quasi keynote) who I am and why I do what I do. And I admit, I am heavily inspired by my father who made decisions in the best interest of learners (esp with tech, but because we see it as a key differentiation tool). I was reminded of that recently when I got a WordPress comment from “Ms ET” (chilliwack folks still know her but by a slightly different name) that he would be proud of what I am continuing to work on and whom I work with. I don’t mak things easy as I change with each learning community (including one school where we did a lot of suspensions – mindfully – to create time & space and within 18 months shift from a school that had an average of 6 suspensions a day to one every fortnight-ish) and I love the learning community I am part of that has embraced working on self regulation and physical play and ensuring learners have food and are rested before getting the learning going!
It’s fun learnin with adults. Great questions and shared thinkings that make me learn and synthesize why I educate how who and why I do. But I’m really looking forward to seeing the kids tomorrow!!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

