Day 45 (of 183) so…my daughter came home with a medal…

Day 45 (of 183) so…my daughter came home with a medal…

….for the subject she did “worst” in (higher scores…oops I mean “%s” in all her other subjects)….
…from last year…
It’s nice….but…we’re not sure of the criteria. And while I put no pressure on my kids for letter grades (I’m more interested in their overall learning journeys) I do want them to show their knowing as best they can and be transparent about what they do well on and areas they can improve on (criteria based assessment/descriptive feedback/standards based learning). And having clearly defined targets to aim for…so of course she’s wondering what it means for the other subjects that she did “better” in (she has some suspicions but nothing certain). 
It just struck me as interesting that when I asked how she earned it, she wasn’t sure…and she smiled knowing it would get my brain working overtime and make me think back to some @chriswejr columns on awards: http://chriswejr.com/strength-based-education/thoughts-on-awards-ceremonies/

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

