Day 43 (of 183) maybe it’s because I’m tired….but I just can’t find it

Day 43 (of 183) maybe it’s because I’m tired….but I just can’t find it

I spent last night sleeping on a couch. Not because of something I did – but because my son was going through an overnight sleep test (when he fell asleep during a root canal – we knew something was wrong(er) when he started snoring) and I “got” to sleep on the loveseat in the waiting room. So I say “sleeping on a couch” in the most liberal way possible.

But then I tried to find my Remembrance Day presentation. I’ve been building on it for 11 years (yes, probably some irony that for the 11th day of the 11th month, I’ve already used one ‘template’ for 11 years) and I know I saved it somewhere….but….

Still – it was a good day (despite the tiredness). I got to pop in to @freshgrade headquarters and meet their product director Shane and go over some ‘thoughts and shares’ from our experience entering year 3 of using eportfolios instead of report cards. I also got to stop in at the Okanagan Science Centre and see two of my schools classes exploring!

But darned if I can find that Remembrance Day file. Not that it’s the “same assembly” each year – but it has a wide variety of slides (songs, facts etc) to mix and use appropriately depending on grade levels. Fortunately, we have a couple of student presentations (including our new choir!)  and I’ve got a few “favourite” songs that I get to choose from:

Ric-a-dam-doo (must view) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ozsOV7s7fM

or

A Pittance of Time (love this one) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0bXGZr-IJJ4

and my usual “closer”

Bryan Adams https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qq5hFrb7b_E

So…. I’m creating a new archive of songs and reminders as we prepare for a very important assembly. I’ll probably find it tomorrow morning…but I think I kinda like the new template…! Hopefully it’s not always a bad things when things go awry… or as I saw today at the freshgrade offices….

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 8.37.58 PM

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

