Day 12 (of 183) on professional development

Day 12 (of 183) on professional development

On a day in which I am doing a road trip to an Ignite event 4.5 hours away (and back again to be ready for the next day – more on that on the next blog) it made me think about some of the pro-d I have enjoyed recently:
I have taken part in a mooc

I always like book studies – solo and in groups

I have taken courses and listened to lectures 

I have done inquiry; presented on a variety of topics; collaborated with small and large groups and even taken on a fabulous new challenge of co-moderating #bcedchat

This week alone I have attended a stand-and-deliver (even though as educators we know this is a ‘choose seldom’ methodology – when it is provided infrequently it can have value!) followed by a mini-edcamp (and I LOVE the unpredictable nature of an edcamp!) and a ‘hands-on’ learning session on eportfolios. And the middle of the week led me to an ignite event: 5 minutes, 20 slides passionate topic – a very dynamic event!
And best of all was the 1:1 networking and stories shared in the hallways of schools, during ignite ‘chat times’, and even at the end of a driveway when finishing a carpool. 
The professional development I am taking part in now only occasionally resembles the pro-d I attended at the start of my career. 

My question of this week to think about: what is the best and worst part when you start to think about your pro-d plan for yourself this year!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

