On Hating Reading

As a once-upon-a-time teacher-librarian I gotta agree – not everyone likes reading (let alone the arguments that fans of a particular genre can start) but there is a value in being able to read – and I still think that when you find a particular style/author/format there will be a bit of joy that comes out (esp if it includes reading blogs!)

recite-1ewom0k

I have loved reading as many years as I have lived.  Reading wove its threads throughout my life, from my mother reading aloud to me every night, to learning to read English books in the lap of my now-father, biking to our public library with a plastic bag empty waiting for the books that would fill it, and now passing my love on to my own children as they beg for just one more book, every single night.

I have brought my love of reading into the classroom, cementing that in this room we are all readers.  We all spend time finding those books that will transform us.  Finding those moments where we beg for just one more page, one more minute, and hope that the teacher will give it to us.

I love reading, but I do not ask all of my students to love reading.  I do not…

View original post 408 more words

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

