SoL 2 (Summer of Learning) Day 2 at @bcpvpa @ubceduc ShortCourse #bcpvpa & my presentation on communication

SoL 2 (Summer of Learning) Day 2 at @bcpvpa @ubceduc ShortCourse #bcpvpa

Another fabulous morning of learning – but it’s always a positive experience to learn from/with Bruce Beairsto @bbeairsto former superintendent of Richmond. His message is always upbeat about the complexity and volume of our work as PVPs (veloxity as one @bcpvpa member often refers to it). If it was easy work, everyone would do it.
This year, one of my reflection challenges was to do notes a little differently. And thanks to the inspiration of several sketch-noters I am trying to encapsulate what Bruce spoke of:

IMG_2573

IMG_2574

It was then an afternoon of choices – we had five fabulous speakers  ready to go, so that people from each of our short course tables could go to 2 and then we would all debrief together at the end of the day. A slight wrinkle was that one of our speakers was called away at the last minute and I had to ‘step up. I opted to do an introduction to technology/communication.

I shared my experiences working with a variety of tech – including how I ‘allow’ my staff to text during the day (to keep me informed of issues that are ongoing) and how that helped enhance the use of eportfolios within our school community. I also experimented with a new idea, or as I tweeted out:

technolandy
LIVE on #Periscope: 2nd run of my @bcpvpa shortcourse presentation on communication #bcpvpa inspired by @willrich45… https://t.co/oICoK8fD7G
2015-07-07, 1:30 PM

Always gotta try some new stuff! I also have the pdf version of the slideshow in my presentation section:  iPrincipal – communication because I’m not yet sure how long periscope keeps ‘stuff’ up for! But you always gotta try to communicate!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

