SoT 2 (Summer of Thinking) ShortCourse Ice Breaker – story telling w your name

Today a group of provincial Principals and Vice Principals came together to plan our upcoming week as facilitators for the annual BCPVPA/UBC ShortCourse – an amazing week of professional development preparing PVPs to expect the unexpected.

An icebreaker activity that we used was to “tell our story using our name” – essentially an acrostic poem – that I chose to morph into prose….

I am my family – inspired by my father who was a principal before me and equally inspired by my children who are transforming the schools and classrooms that they are in as students.

Audio is my best self regulator (and I discovered works well for my general anxiety son who used his music playlist as a tool to cope through a multi-step root canal this month) – for me it is the heavy beats of Chapman, Isaak, U2 along with the talk radio of Howard Stern that helps me destress, process, and synthesize as I make further connections.

Not satisified with the status quo – I am always striving to be better, as a dad, a husband as an educator innovator – I know more than I did 10 years ago and therefore should be doing different now, and should be very excited about the next 10.

and really looking forward to what happens over the next week – and the blogs that come out of the week of ShortCourse!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

