Day 159 (of 188) Teacher Observations – more than a %….so…..

Day 159 (of 188) Teacher Observations

It’s the time of year to finish teacher evaluation/observations. Always a challenging time with events like (for us) District Cross Country events, Track & Field competitions, end of year assessments/evaluations (for us, performance standards around reading, writing, numeracy, social responsibility – and we’d love to do one on anxiety….)

What I do like is that we use performance standards for teacher evaluation too. Working on domains such as Planning and Preparation, Classroom Environment, Instruction and Professional Responsibilities.

My particular bias is always on self reflection – I’m not worried about the lesson going well or not, but more if the teacher knows why it went good or ….. different.

I know full well that I can still be doing ‘better’ as a teacher (especially as a teaching principal when my brain is always stuck between the two worlds) but I do like looking at our quick scales to provide some descriptive feedback that the teacher can use as a target/goal.

Hmmmm – interesting – We are using performance standards to provide descriptive feedback for growth on our educational journey…..not % or Pass/Fail or a letter grade…though I guess we could as many use formulas to translate standards into %’s.

I know I would hate that. Being told I’m 79% and that I could ‘try harder’ wouldn’t give me the information I would need to grow and improve. But it is a “B’…..would that mean I’m just as good as someone who might’ve gotten an 85%? (BC 73-85 is the range for B)

Probably why I like using eportfolios with my students. And rubrics. And lots of descriptive feedback. Giving specific learning targets for growth – good for students; good for teachers; good for all of us! Also why our BCPVPA has Leadership Standards to give our Principals and VicePrincipals descriptive targets to aim for! http://www.bcpvpa.bc.ca/downloads/pdf/BCPVPAStandards0913.pdf

So much more to life than a %

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

