Day 148 (of 188) the golden ticket – aka The mixed emotions of retirement season

Day 148 (of 188) the golden ticket – aka the mixed emotions of retirement season 
I just got official word of one of my staff is ready to enter recite end life. And I’m of mixed emotions. I’m very happy for her. But she knows so much stuff about our school and entire learning community!
Yet I do have a bias as my principal-father didn’t make his retirement age. So I am always in favour of enjoying the change-in-lifestyle when it feels right. Especially when it feels right – if you start to think ‘this year was great, maybe one more…..  the analogy I like to use involves skiing. When you want to go for ‘one last run’ – bad things happen. I always liked leaving thinking “I coulda done one more” and wondering “what if…”  
There is great power in having that golden ticket – the one that says you are now working because you want to, not because you have to. I am thrilled for my staff members who are “retirement eligible” – they have helped build an amazing learning community that I am proud to now be part of!  
But they will be missed!!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

