Day 142 (of 188) reflections on what once was

Day 142 (of 188) reflections on what once was

50% of my grade 8 class made it to graduation.  
That seemed to be a recurring theme as I met some friends from our old home town while one of my kids was at basketball in the same town where they live (and where their kids were at piano lessons). As much as people remember ‘the good old days’ – I do recall that they weren’t always all that good. 
I hear more educators say that we are seeing more students with mental health challenges (my son is one) than ever before. Are we surprised when our graduation rates have continued to rise each decade – and that more and more students remain “connected to a school” than going to work in a mill or just electing not to go to school (my community had a more than a few teen pregnancies).
School was tough. My personal challenge is to have more and more students want to be at school and learn. And I struggle when one of my anxious learners asks for a part day model ‘like one of their cousins’. That’s a key to my rant on anxiety from last year (update coming)  https://technolandy.wordpress.com/?s=day+110
People worry about how viral videos show so much violence at times. Honestly I would’ve loved for some events I saw/was part of to have been videoed to show more than “he said/she said”. 
Coming from a small town, I appreciate the opportunities my kids have – as my buddy said “we’re like happy puppies – our tails are always wagging ’cause we know what our families got”
I am pleased when I see a provincial graduation rate of 80% – it means there are more and more kids having reasons to stay connected to schools. I do worry as we get into budget season as that means looking at non-enrolling portions of education – often the section of education that wasn’t available to support and keep my learning cohort connected to learning. I know we do a lot more differentiation in education than when I was a student – but I can’t help but wonder if that will be enough to maintain our increasing graduation rates. 
As we finished our coffees and went our separate ways to pick up our kids and start our trips home we had a final reflection. We know so much more about education today and look back and shake our heads at some parts of our past and wonder – what will we be thinking and shaking our heads at in another two decades when our grandkids (likely) will be starting their education journey…

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

