Day 134 (of 188) interactivity? Thanks to @ChrisWejr @DCulberhouse @craigcantlie @freshgrade

Today I had the opportunity to go with one of my teachers and travel to another school in the district to share our journey away from report cards and towards eportfolios (and possibly kickstart their journey!) I have been very mindful lately of trying to make my presentations for events like this more “dialoguey” and less lecturey – I have my ‘framework’ (more and more influenced by @presentationzen) which I use to ‘share my story’ – and then hopefully engage the audience to do some thinking and maybe (and fortunately, usually) ask some good questions along our conversation.  I liked the fact that today had the background work and then led to some hands-on time to use the @freshgrade product that our school has been using. We ended ‘our part’ by giving the staff “time” to play on their own. We are planning on revisiting for a followup session to see what they’ve done and what problems they have run into (and likely solved on their own, much as our staff has).

This tied in perfectly with a blog from the uber talented @ChrisWejr and his article for the Canadian Education Association: Moving Beyond “Sit’n’Git” Pro-D: http://www.cea-ace.ca/blog/chris-wejr/2015/04/4/moving-beyond-sit’n’git-pro-d

and made me realize I still need to do more….and look at how I am sharing to get more interactivity to occur throughout our “conversation time” which in turn on a busy thursday-reading-afternoon made me reflect on another blog I read by @DCulberhouse about deconstructing what we are doing and not be afraid to get messier: https://dculberh.wordpress.com/2015/04/09/the-mindset-of-mess-and-the-art-of-deconstruction/ and the encouragement ” To forego our current comfort and our need for perfectionism, if we are to discover new and better ways of thinking, doing and being.”

And all of this reading and thinking has me doing some quick reworking before I share our school journey again tomorrow at the @freshgrade hq  – and in many ways, today completely built off a nice tweet from @craigcantlie talking about how a visit/chat we had in the fall has ‘got the ball rolling’ on another eportfolio journey. A tweet that had perfect timing as I prepared to have similar interactions with other learning communities!

Very thrilled to have an engaging PLN who are talented sharers and willing to keep up the communication at what always seems to be ‘just the right time’ to get me moving!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

