Day 128 (of 188) returning from the break – and thank you to @freshgrade #teamfreshgrade 

Day 128 (of 188) returning from the break


the more things change the more they stay the same. 

A two week spring break in education can be very good. I still remember our first one – I felt the most energized that I had as a teacher. I know that because the next year I moved to a district that had a one-week break….

But some things after the break remain constant following a spring break:

– some surprise family move in / move outs

– some breaks were great (and they’ll ask if they can wear their Disney hats all day long) – others not so much (you can tell them by the hats/hoodies pulled low down over their faces)

– some who would normally have stayed home sick come to school (both adults and children) 

– more thinking about what September is going to (likely) look like

You can rest assured that there will be some surprisingly good and sad stories that come out of spring break. But my surprise this year was an email and tweet that freshgrade (the eportfolio that our school uses in our battle against report cards) decided to put my picture up as their ‘teacher of the week’. 

I’ll be honest – I’m like most teachers and don’t always handle public praise like this well. But I have happily said that I will be the face of eportfolios in my learning community as a target for the critiques and am thrilled that the support for eportfolios to communicate student learning continues to grow. It has helped enhance the way I teach and the way I assess & evaluate. 

I didn’t see this being the way spring break would end and the final 1/3 of school would start – thank you. 

  

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

