Day 114 (of 188) active watching/looking/seeing

Day 114 (of 188) active watching/looking/seeing

We talk about active listening & hearing vs listening. But we don’t often talk about watching vs looking vs seeing. Today during our “morning play” (after a basketball mini lesson) I started thinking about vision – literal not metaphorical dream-goals. 


This came to me mainly because I was trying to watch if a student was still struggling today, looking at a human pyramid being built and still see that everyone was safe (or at least safe-ish as we had free play in the gym). 
I’ve been to sessions on hearing vs listening and even used my active-listening skills a couple times with my parents – but I’ve never heard of a watching/seeing/looking session – but I’m starting to think it might be important to be just as mindful about how we use our eyes as we use our ears!
I’m don’t know if I have the answers but I know I:
watch for specifics,
look for generalities,
and sometimes I see what I want to see…..
I often mention to parents who bring up “new” things (like bullying on the playground, theft from lunches etc) and I thank them for helping us better know what to look for (general issue) and what/who we want to watch (specific person/are) and I can see that there may be a problem (but then again there might not be)….
Lots of work has been done on awareness of “active listening”
Maybe next we practice and look into “active watching”
About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 114 (of 188) active watching/looking/seeing

  1. Pingback: Day 44 (of 185) Leaderful Mindsets via @sabrecherkowski | technolandy: site of Ian Landy

Leave a Reply

