Day 112 (of 188) My presentation on Blogging at #bcpvpalearn

Day 112 (of 188) My presentation on Blogging at #bcpvpalearn

The return of our @bcpvpa Friday Forum and four of us from a new committee on communication share out on our technology journeys. We had @mrjtyler talk about engagement,  @a_beckingham talk about mobile technology, @danwatt talk about starting out on twitter, and I shared my story on blogging. A pdf of my blog sharing is here – but be warned, I am following much more of a ‘less is more’ approach on many of my slides:

Blogging Friday Forum

My key learning has been that it is about relationships. And a big chunk of my blogging comes from two key “moments” – the first was having to write every. single. day. in grade three which drove a ‘love of writing’ underground (despite my pursuit of an english/history degree) the second was finding my fathers journal when he was doing his masters of education degree – it had a lot of information that is still relevant today (questioning grading, report cards etc…45 years later….) but it didn’t have his stories.

My father passed away when I was finishing grade 12. I only have snippets into what his thinking was. I wish I could “see” his thinking and reflecting….which is why I blog.

I also have taken on the “180 day challenge” – essentially blogging each-day-of-learning so that it “forces” me to do daily reflection. Some days are easy; others are hard. I mindfully do not give myself time to do a lot of editing (there are many blogs that are much more polished than mine) but I am also mindful of my audience: my kids. While I am thrilled that others read this blog, I am really trying to create a record of my thinking while I “do what I am doing” so that my family can also “see my journey”.

I strongly encourage blogging. It is scary to put thoughts into words and press “publish” – but it also helps me synthesize my thinking and that has made blogging invaluable to me! Thanks for reading.

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

