Day 106 (of 188) music & tinnitus

Day 106 (of 188) music & tinnitus

Today we were visited by http://sam2.ca – a music group based on ‘scrap creations’ – they had toured our district for the past few days and visited two of my kids schools who declared it ‘cool & loud’. Fantastic way to show how music can be found in the darnedest places and using things not designed to be musical instruments. And darned if one of our kids wasn’t inspired enough to create his own drum kit out of found-objects and be one of our three student opening acts!

Today’s performance also made me reflect on the power of music. I am lucky enough to be in a school district with a strong music presence (I’ve been in districts where music programs were ‘reduced’ and that just meant that they no longer existed – can’t do it ‘halfway’) I have always liked ‘music in the background’ in my classroom – now I’ve always been lucky enough to be able steal space so we can also have quiet zones for workers who need silence – but I like the music in the background probably in part because I have tinnitus – a constant ringing in my ears – and the reason that silence isn’t good for some of us – in fact it can be very distracting!

But hearing the powerful rhythms today helped me connect to my own use of music – I have found myself listening to more music than ever with a great pair of wireless headphones – got a dream pair that I would never pay full price for but I’ve learned that they make a huge difference. And the more I listened to music the better it has been for me to self regulate. I like talk radio, but music works better as a ‘background regulator’ in large part because it fades out that distracting ‘buzzz’.

What’s the ‘best’ kind of music? I remember reading a study that found the best beats/minute for math was either Beethoven (and similar classical composers) or 70s disco….. I like mixing it up (the benefits of satellite & Internet radio!) and helping students explore different styles. And during many work times I do support the one-earbud rule (you can listen to music but one ear has to be free to hear what’s going on).

Looking forward to seeing how this thinking about music influences my environments in the future!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

