Day 104 (of 188) my new scariest phrase in education @bethhill2829

Recently one of my PLN blogged about (and I stole for a repost) her most dangerous phrase: http://celeadlearner.blogspot.ca/2015/02/the-most-dangerous-phrase-in-education.html?m=1
“That’s the way we’ve always done it”

And it is scary and dangerous – a powerful ‘block’

Well today, another one got me…..and it came as a surprise following (ironically I think) after I completed a survey for a colleague finishing his masters on School Culture & the Principal – when we were talking about the tech-volution of our school when I first heard it: “and what happens when you’re not here?”

Honestly, I didn’t make much of it – but it came up again later at our staff meeting (I was late as I was with a teacher at a parent meeting) and I happily knew that much of the agenda could be led without me – but again as we were discussing eportfolios : “what happens when you’re not here?”

And I hope it’s what I suspect will happen – great things will continue to happen – because I’m trying to build a school culture that acknowledges the leadership that (already) exudes in all parts of the school. At least I hope so….?

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

