Day 87 (of 188) blog reflection on blogging – inspired by #ETMN

Day 87 (of 188) blog reflection on blogging – inspired by #ETMN

The EdTech Mentorship network put out a tweet looking for BC educators blogging about technology: http://etmn.org/2015/01/15/we-want-you-bc-ed-tech-bloggers/ . While my “days of learning” blog is not only about technology (despite my Twitter handle) – it did have me reflect on why I value my blogging time – the time I take each day to reflect:

I am halfway through Year 2 of a “180 Days of Learning” blog challenge -essentially blogging each day that learning occurs in school. It has proven to be the best form of reflection that I have used. But there both pros and cons that you might want to know about before tackling this method of technological communication!

A key “con” is that some days it can be very tiring to take the time to reflect. But that was the point for me.

A key “pro” has been that I have identified who my audience is: my kids – to know my thinking on my education journey the same as I lurk through my dads journal (taking on grading & report cards & testing) and getting inspired by his thinking (why I ordered a 100′ Ethernet cable for my classroom…)

And the extraordinary bonus has been that others read this on occasion and I have received some great feedback and sharing of thinkings! Not every blog is good – and I really enjoy reading the authors who take the time to edit and work on their blogs; as a one-a-dayer there are good days and bad days. Well….not bad days, as I walk the talk: any time you take to reflect on your day, your craft, on Learning! is a valuable time! Thank you for taking time.

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

