Day 83 (of 188) Jim’s Arcade [a little bit in memory of my dad]

Day 83 (of 188) Jim’s Arcade [in memory of my dad]

When my dad passed away many years ago, his secretary “saved” me a couple of work items – his brilliant orange chair (which survived until three years ago – I did salvage some of the velvet/velour that lined it]  a painting a student made for him about being “the boss of LSS”

FullSizeRender-1

The only thing that I suddenly missed today was the woodwork sign that said “Jim’s Arcade” – it was a tease in 1980-something when he created one of the first school computer labs (I remember him showing me a Time magazine article applauding a school in Texas and it’s computer lab – and our little town of Lillooet had one that was a bit bigger…!) and how some thought that it was a plaything: like an atari, just more expensive…. 😦

The reactions when “new things” are being implemented can be interesting- and I know I’ve been teased about “playing games” with the iPads & other techie things I bring in to our learning community. I know my dad was proud of his “arcade” – because it wasn’t an amusement park where kids went to go and just play games; they went and did some learning that made them “think different”. I still recall walking to his school in the afternoons or on weekends and logging in and trying to figure out the puzzle game of HitchHikers Guide to the Galaxy (never did finish it) and make a fortune on Lemonade Stand (I did quite well on that game – and Where in the World is Carmen San Diego) – in comparison, I know I did worksheets in my classroom but darned if I can remember much about them…other than I liked the ones that let you get the answer to a joke at the bottom… I smile now when I see my kids “playing” Minecraft, Scribblenauts and other logic/math games and wonder what they will think of their formative years using technology.

I have long promoted “technologization” – the blending of technology and curriculum as a great differentiator – now I am hoping to continue the ‘push’ and move forward (as our district does a technology review/refresh) with mobile technology to create a greater sense of “www” than desktops ever could – the www stands for “whatever, whenever, wherever” learning…because education today is able to change faster and do different (better?) than the way we did school in the 19-anythings…

I don’t want kids to play school, I do want them to play with their Learning – that is “Landy’s Arcade”

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 83 (of 188) Jim’s Arcade [a little bit in memory of my dad]

  1. Hi Ian,

    I am working with the EdTech Mentorship Network and the BC Ministry of Education developing a website which provide free, open, flexible, and personalized professional learning opportunities to British Columbia’s K-12 teachers in support of education transformation. We are in the process of promoting the site to the BC education community.
    The link to the site is:
    http://etmn.org

    I think your blog post about Landy’s arcade would be perfect to share on the ETMN site as we are trying to share the ed tech writings of BC teachers.

    Since it is on WordPress, I’m pretty sure I can directly re-blog it but I wanted to be sure that it is okay with you first.

    Thanks and bye for now,

    Elizabeth Wellburn

  2. Reblogged this on EdTech Mentorship Network and commented:
    A bit of a walk down EdTech memory lane…. thanks to Ian Landy, Principal, Sorrento Elementary, Sorrento, BC, School District No. 83 (North Okanagan Shuswap)

Leave a Reply

