Day 66 (of 188) stand up [literally] @laurapaiement

Day 66 (of 188) stand up [literally] @laurapaiement

Today I took my turn “chairing” our school districts principals meeting. I followed up on a private challenge that our local health advocate Laura P encourages us to do: stand.

Really.

But it’s not as easy as it sounds; there are many cultural norms that standing ‘breaks’. At my last flury of conferences I was at, I mindfully stood as often as I could, graciously declining offers of “nearby chairs”. But it is awkward – try it! There’s a lot of subtle pressure in our world to ‘sit down’…

So today, as chair (ironically) I brought in a couple of my ‘tall tables’ (cheaper than some of the fancier standing desks). I have a patio-bistro table that I use for my main “desk” and I found some great foldable/adjustable height tables Tall Tables that I use for my ‘bigger work surface’ and am encouraging around the school – when we talk about ‘moveable furniture’ (to work with anxiety and self regulation) it is easy to think horizontally but we also have to be mindful of vertical options as well.

Our next ‘challenge’ is coming via one of my teachers dads who is going to be building us a bunch of wooden balances to stand on. We have one that has been very popular – especially when the balances then need to reach things on the left side of their body with their right hand (crossing the vertical axis) -as Laura P hinted at, I’ve seen some of my anxious/behavioural students quickly self regulate just balancing and doing Lego… I’m looking forward to seeing what other teachers come up with and share with our larger learning community!

Not many took up my offer/challenge to stand during our meeting – but I did model it and my director of instruction ended up walking out of the room with one of my tables to set up in her office! It’s a start!

IMG_5362.JPG

IMG_5361.JPG

IMG_5360.JPG

IMG_5359.JPG

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

