Day 45 (of 188) why #geniushour ? #bcedbloggers inspired by Bill Watterson & @calvinandhobbes

Day 45 (of 188) why #geniushour ?

10 years ago it started as “student choice time”. Then it emerged as a “student selected project” – as an administrator it became “that stuff you do during my prep”.

It had no set deadlines (some french immersion parents hated that the ‘deadline’ might be grade 11…they wanted ‘next thursday’.

It didn’t translate well to report cards (one of the reasons I have championed the shift to eportfolios in my learning community) but it did transfer key skills for differentiation (everyone working at their own speed; on their own topic).

There were frustrations – as vented to me as: they keep changing topics. For me this was just as valuable as spending hours on something they love – finding out what looks neat but ‘isn’t the right fit’. How to ‘find’ an hour-a-week (for me and my learners, it is a priority – we start the week with it). How to assess it (not the point; focus is on discovery learning – focus should be more on ‘good questions’ to ‘deepen the learning’). How much time (I want THIS to be the homework done at home [as well as reading for fun and math games]).

But for me the inspiration circles to a key piece of artwork:

Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 7.18.58 PM

Without a doubt “What would you like to learn” needs to be part of our vocabulary – and at least once a week, I try to enable that. Honestly, I don’t really care about what the ‘finished product is’ but I do care about the journey. And for the first time, I actually get to document the learning journey through an entire year via our eportfolios.

And last year I actually had a boy spend a lot of hours studying about dinosaurs 🙂

Can’t wait to see what happens….this year!

Why geniushour? Why not is the better question – especially when the discussions focus is on quality of learning vs quantity of ‘stuff done’.

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 45 (of 188) why #geniushour ? #bcedbloggers inspired by Bill Watterson & @calvinandhobbes

  1. Joy Kirr says:

    I love “Why not is a better question…” “Why not?” has become my pat answer for almost anything students ask me since I’ve begun genius hour. If it’s safe, shows that you’re learning, engages you in learning, go for it!
    Thanks for writing and sharing this great post – and that Calvin and Hobbes has burned an imprint in my memory as well.

Leave a Reply

