Day 18 (of 188) #edjourney by @grantlichtman

Day 18 (of 188) #edjourney by @grantlichtman

@grantlichtman took the opportunity to do what many of wish we could do but can’t/haven’t: go for a drive and stop on and visit schools to explore innovations – though he has inspired a group of BC Principals in my PLN to do a short version ‘road trip’ to our schools along the trans canada highway.

#edjourney seemed like it was going to be a quick weekend read. I was wrong. It was easy to get into and there wasn’t anything confusing about it, but it did what good books do: made me think.

A lot.

Questioned why I push education the way I do – with the hope/goal being that I want my kids experience to have all the best parts of my learning journey but none of the ‘wasted space’ (where we would stare longingly at the second hand moving slower and slower around the face of the clock…)

I also saw my dad working on some changes: to the timetable – blending linear, semester, copernican & independent studies- on report cards, bringing in disruptive elements such as microwaves and computers – an facing ridicule for doing so… But largely in isolation. A couple of conferences allowed him to network, but…

…but I have Twitter and so many other SM options to share, discuss, debate and change ideas. Which is my big takeaway from #EdJourney – it’s not just about a journey across the U.S. It’s not even about the cool innovations being done in schools. It is more about the paradigm shift being enabled in no small part thanks to mobile technology (I called that one a decade+ ago) and a willingness of educators to use these tools to share an enhance educational ideas.

At the end of the book @grantlichtman challenges us to do more than talk about change and start doing.

For me, it’s reassuring support to continue my work on eportfolios, disruptive learning (like geniushour & self organized learning environments & recreational math etc) and advocating for mobile technology (not desktops).

I’m proud to be part of a district that is on an ambitious edjourney of our own, and best of all, Lichtman can visit via video cam & wifi instead of a Prius (though BCs Shuswap is a very popular tourist destination and he [and other educators] are always welcome!

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/edjourney/id895173513?mt=11

IMG_0564.PNG

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

